Whether your park ceremony needs a permit depends on three things: the park, the number of people and what you plan to set up. NYC Parks requires a special-event permit for any event with more than 20 attendees. A smaller group may still need one if you want to reserve a particular spot or use amplified sound, a generator, commercial signage or a temporary structure. The processing fee is $25 and nonrefundable, and NYC Parks will not accept an application fewer than 21 days before the event. Central Park and the privately run gardens add their own rules on top. The park permit sits alongside your marriage license and your officiant, not in place of them.
Key takeaways
Tap a card to bring it forward.
- NYC Parks requires a special-event permit for more than 20 attendees, and a smaller ceremony may need one to reserve a spot or bring sound, a generator, signage or a structure.
- The NYC Parks processing fee is $25, nonrefundable, and applications must arrive at least 21 days ahead; next year's applications open the first Tuesday after Labor Day.
- Central Park's wedding guidance allows acoustic music but no chairs, tents, alcohol, flowers, balloons or decorations, and the space stays open to the public.
- The Conservatory Garden and Brooklyn Botanic Garden run their own bookings, fees and photography permits.
- Rain rules differ by location, so ask each one about rain, changes and refunds in writing.
- The permit covers the place; you still need a New York marriage license and a legal officiant.
What decides whether your ceremony needs a permit
Start with a head count. The NYC Parks special-event portal says a permit is required for any event with more than 20 attendees, as read on September 27, 2026. Count everyone who will stand in that circle with you: guests, the two of you, the officiant and anyone working the ceremony. When you ask the permit office, give them the total, because the office decides how the count applies to your plan.
Guest count is only the first trigger. The same portal says that, regardless of size, a permit may be needed or worth getting if you want to reserve a particular area so another group can't book it, avoid scheduled park work, use commercial signage, run a generator, use amplified sound, or put up a temporary structure such as a tent or stage. For a wedding, that last point matters more than it sounds. The portal does not say that every chair, arch or chuppah automatically needs a permit, but those items can count as setup or a structure, and some locations ban them outright. List everything you plan to bring and let the office tell you what it means.
NYC Parks does not describe a ceremony under 20 people as universally permit-free. If the exact spot and time matter to you, a permit is how you hold them.
How to apply to NYC Parks, and when
The application runs through the NYC Parks special-event permit portal. The steps happen in this order:

- Create an account on the portal, or sign in to one you already have.
- Choose the event category for weddings in the parks.
- Describe the park, date, time, attendance and every event element: equipment, structures, sound, vendors, electricity and vehicles. The application form also asks about insurance, medical services and security.
- Submit the application and pay the $25 processing fee.
- Wait for approval before you announce the location to guests.
The $25 fee is nonrefundable and generally cannot be waived. Sound, tents, signage, generators and vendors can add their own costs, and large events may involve a concession fee, according to the NYC Parks Special Event Permit Guide.
Timing has one firm floor: NYC Parks will not accept an application fewer than 21 days before the event, and it recommends applying as early as you can. Applications for the following calendar year open on the first Tuesday after Labor Day in September. If you're planning a spring or summer ceremony next year, that Tuesday is the date to mark.
Central Park adds a wrinkle worth knowing before you set your timeline. The portal says more than 20 attendees and a 21-day minimum, while the Central Park wedding PDF says to apply when 20 or more people attend and that the permit takes 30 days to process. Both were read on September 27, 2026. The safe plan is to apply well before 30 days out and confirm the current rule with the Manhattan permit office.
Each borough has its own permit office, listed on the NYC Parks contacts page, which also carries a separate note for Brooklyn Bridge Park. Send your application to the office for the borough where your park sits.
Your permit calendar, from first step to the day
Tap or hover a step to follow the order.
The first Tuesday after Labor Day
NYC Parks opens applications for the following calendar year (NYC Parks portal).
More than 30 days out
The safe time to apply for Central Park, since its wedding PDF says the permit takes 30 days to process (Central Park wedding PDF).
21 days out
The last point at which NYC Parks accepts an application (NYC Parks portal).
10 days out
The Conservatory Garden's minimum lead time for its own permit (Central Park Conservancy).
5 days out
The latest to file an NYPD sound permit in person, where amplified sound is allowed at all (NYC Parks Special Event Permit Guide).
24 hours out
Your marriage license must already be issued, because New York requires a 24-hour wait unless a judge grants a waiver (NYC311).
Central Park's wedding rules
Central Park allows ceremonies, but the official wedding guidance keeps them light. According to the NYC Parks Central Park wedding PDF, read September 27, 2026:
- Acoustic music is permitted; amplified sound is not.
- No setup: tents, tables and chairs are prohibited.
- A hand-carried chuppah needs prior permission.
- Flowers, balloons and decorations are prohibited.
- No banners or signs attached to park property or trees, and nothing staked into the ground.
- Alcohol is prohibited.
- The public keeps access to the park during your ceremony.
- You clean up afterward.
In practice, that means a group standing together, acoustic music if you like, the vows and the photos, and everyone leaving with what they carried in. The PDF lists the fee as $25, matching the portal.
The Central Park spots couples consider
A handful of names come up again and again, each with its own rules. None of them becomes yours alone; a permit gives you permission, not a closed park.

Cop Cot, Mid-Park at 60th Street, is listed in the Central Park wedding PDF as a suggested wedding location with a maximum of 50 people. The Conservancy's Cop Cot page shows where it sits.
Ladies Pavilion is listed in the same PDF with a maximum of 20 to 25 people, which suits a small group.
Bow Bridge, Mid-Park at 74th Street, is described by the Central Park Conservancy as one of the park's most photographed features and a frequent spot for proposals. Ask the Manhattan permit office about wedding capacity, fees and what it allows before you plan around it.
Shakespeare Garden, West Side at 79th Street, is identified by the Conservancy as a quiet zone. Confirm wedding capacity and fees with the permit office.
The Conservatory Garden, on the East Side between 104th and 105th Streets, works differently. The Central Park Conservancy runs it and offers permit-only ceremonies with 90 minutes for the ceremony and photography together. You apply to the Conservancy at least 10 days ahead, the garden stays open to the public, and professional or staged photography needs its own photography permit. Cancellations more than 30 days out are refunded; within 30 days they are not. These terms were read on September 27, 2026 and are worth checking again when you book.
Prospect Park and other borough parks
For a NYC Parks special-event permit in Prospect Park, you apply through the Brooklyn permit office on the contacts page. Before you plan a Prospect Park ceremony, ask NYC Parks for the ceremony capacity, the approved ceremony spots and any fee beyond the $25 processing fee. If you have a lawn or a spot by the water in mind, name it on your application and get the answer in writing before you tell guests where to meet.
The same goes for parks in the Bronx, Queens and Staten Island. NYC Parks lists a permit office for each, and the borough office is where you find out whether your plan works in the park you have in mind.
Brooklyn Botanic Garden and New York Botanical Garden
Both gardens set their own rules, separate from an ordinary NYC Parks permit.

Brooklyn Botanic Garden books ceremonies directly, first come, first served, and says spring and summer fill up. As read September 27, 2026, ceremony-only bookings are on weekends at 9 a.m., must end by 10 a.m., and only two are allowed each Saturday and each Sunday. The fee is $628 for up to 50 people, with up to 10 more guests at $22 each, for a maximum of 60. The fee is nonrefundable. Ceremonies are rain or shine with no indoor space. You can ask for the Fragrance Garden, Japanese Hill-and-Pond Garden, Osborne Garden, Plant Family Collection, Rose Garden or Water Garden, subject to availability. Everyone stands; small portable chuppahs are allowed, low-volume music is fine, and chairs, tables, decorations, balloons, rice, birdseed and food are not. Portrait photography is included in the ceremony booking, but photos continuing past 10 a.m. need a separate portrait permit.
If you want photos there on another day, the BBG wedding photography session costs $366 for up to 25 people and runs 60 minutes, between 10 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. from April through October and 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. from November through March. No indoor photos are part of it. The photography pages give two lead times, five business days on one page and 14 business days in the broader photo policy, so ask which applies to you. Guests taking photos on their phones during public hours don't need a permit.
New York Botanical Garden in the Bronx says all staged photo and film shoots need a permit before entering, and its visitor guidelines exclude wedding, engagement and staged group photos from ordinary personal photography. Ask NYBG for its wedding ceremony fee and package terms in writing, along with a current quote and its written rules.
Tap or hover a row to highlight it.
| Place or permit | Fee | Timing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Place or permitNYC Parks special-event permit | Fee$25, nonrefundable | TimingApply at least 21 days ahead | SourceNYC Parks portal |
| Place or permitCentral Park wedding permit | Fee$25 | TimingThe PDF says 30 days to process | SourceCentral Park wedding PDF |
| Place or permitConservatory Garden | FeeAsk the Conservancy for current fees | TimingApply at least 10 days ahead; 90 minutes for ceremony and photos | SourceCentral Park Conservancy |
| Place or permitBrooklyn Botanic Garden ceremony | Fee$628 for up to 50 people, plus $22 per guest up to 60 | TimingWeekends, 9 a.m., ending by 10 a.m. | SourceBrooklyn Botanic Garden |
| Place or permitBBG wedding photography session | Fee$366 for up to 25 people | Timing60 minutes | SourceBrooklyn Botanic Garden |
| Place or permitNYPD sound permit | Fee$45 | TimingFiled in person at least five days ahead | SourceNYC Parks guide |
What you can bring, place by place
This table sets out the rules as of September 27, 2026. Where a cell says "Not stated", there is no posted rule either way, so ask before you buy or rent anything.
Tap or hover a row to highlight it.
| Item | NYC Parks, general | Central Park wedding guidance | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremony |
|---|---|---|---|
| ItemChairs, tables, tents | NYC Parks, generalDisclose on application; may count as setup or structures | Central Park wedding guidanceProhibited | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonyChairs and tables prohibited |
| ItemArch or chuppah | NYC Parks, generalDisclose on application | Central Park wedding guidanceHand-carried chuppah with prior permission | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonySmall portable chuppah allowed |
| ItemAcoustic music | NYC Parks, generalNot stated | Central Park wedding guidancePermitted | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonyLow-volume music acceptable |
| ItemAmplified sound | NYC Parks, generalNYPD sound permit, $45, filed in person at least five days ahead; up to four hours, not allowed in every park | Central Park wedding guidanceProhibited | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonyNot stated for ceremonies |
| ItemFood | NYC Parks, generalSales need a Temporary Use Authorization and health permits | Central Park wedding guidanceNot stated | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonyProhibited |
| ItemAlcohol | NYC Parks, generalGenerally not allowed; narrow exceptions need approval and a State Liquor Authority permit | Central Park wedding guidanceProhibited | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonyNot stated |
| ItemFlowers, balloons, decorations | NYC Parks, generalNot stated | Central Park wedding guidanceProhibited | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonyDecorations and balloons prohibited |
| ItemPetals, confetti, rice | NYC Parks, generalAsk first | Central Park wedding guidanceNot stated; decorations prohibited | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonyRice and birdseed prohibited |
| ItemGenerator or electricity | NYC Parks, generalNYC Parks provides no power; generators may need extra permission, including FDNY | Central Park wedding guidanceNot stated | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonyNot stated |
| ItemCleanup | NYC Parks, generalExpected | Central Park wedding guidanceRequired | Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonyNothing staked into plant beds or soil |
Sources: NYC Parks Special Event Permit Guide, Central Park wedding PDF, Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonies.
Before you order a petal toss kit, a portable speaker or a rental arch, check this table against your location. What you can carry comfortably, like the rings in a secure ring box, a compact guest book and a portable phone battery, tends to fit every set of rules.
If it rains
Rain rules differ by location. Here is what each place says, as of September 27, 2026:

- Brooklyn Botanic Garden ceremonies go ahead rain or shine, with no indoor space.
- A rained-out BBG photography session gets a rain date good for one calendar year.
- The Conservatory Garden refunds cancellations made more than 30 days ahead and not those within 30 days; its page does not set a rain-date policy.
Ask your permit office or garden, in writing, whether the permit stays valid in rain, whether a rain date exists, whether you can change the date, whether weather cancellations are treated differently from choosing to cancel, and whether the fee comes back. A few clear umbrellas large enough for two, where the location allows them, cover a short shower, and a waterproof folder or resealable clear sleeves keep the printed permit and marriage license dry. A garment bag with a shoulder strap helps if you're walking into the park in formal clothes.
Questions to ask before you book vendors
Settle these with the permit office or garden before you pay a photographer, florist or musician:
- The exact spot, and its maximum guest count.
- Your total head count, and whether the officiant and photographer are included.
- Every item you want to bring, and which are allowed.
- Whether sound, a generator or photos need their own permit.
- The rain, date-change, cancellation and refund policies.
- Whether the public keeps access during your ceremony.
- Accessibility for guests who use a wheelchair or can't stand for long.
- Where vendors can enter, where guests can use restrooms, and how people get there by subway, car or cab.
Quick check: park permit basics
Answer every question to check.
Questions couples ask about park permits
A few questions come up after the rules above, and the answers add details the sections skip.
Can we hold a Central Park ceremony without a permit?
For a small group that sets nothing up and doesn't need a reserved spot, the NYC Parks portal's permit threshold is more than 20 attendees. The Central Park wedding PDF uses 20 or more, so a group right around 20 should ask the Manhattan permit office. Without a permit, you have no hold on the spot.
Does a professional photographer need a permit?
It depends on where you are. Brooklyn Botanic Garden requires a permit for professional portrait and group photography, including weddings, and the Conservatory Garden requires a photography permit for professional or staged photos. New York Botanical Garden requires a permit for any staged photo shoot.
Is the park closed to other visitors during our ceremony?
No. The Central Park Conservancy says its gardens remain open to the public during permitted events, and other visitors may only be asked to avoid the immediate event area. Plan photos knowing strangers may walk through the frame.
Can the ceremony happen the same day we get the license?
Not usually. New York requires at least 24 hours between the license being issued and the ceremony unless a judge grants a waiver, according to NYC311. The license costs $35, and the ceremony can take place anywhere in New York State.
Your next step
Count your people, choose your spot and list what you'll bring, then open an account on the NYC Parks special-event permit portal or contact the Conservancy or garden that runs your location. Apply as early as you can, and at least 30 days out for Central Park to be safe. While you wait, the NYC marriage license guide walks through the application and the 24-hour wait, and the officiant guide covers who can marry you legally, including a friend.
Terms in this guide
Tap a term to see what it means.
Special-event permit. The NYC Parks permit required for any event with more than 20 attendees, and sometimes for a smaller one that reserves a spot or brings sound, a generator, signage or a structure (NYC Parks portal).




